AGGRESSIVE DRIVING IN GEORGIA & GA LAWS

AGGRESSIVE DRIVING IN GEORGIA & GA LAWS

Be an informed driver and know the law and check your own driving habits
to see if you need some habit changing. Like stop talking on phone while driving
or other behaviors that lead to crashes and possible death of another because of your actions. Prevention and caution goes a long way to arriving safely and being alive.

Public Service Posting – Laws Do Change So Always Stay Current

Georgia

May 2014

Below is a list of the key highway safety laws in Georgia. For more information, contact the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety.

AGGRESSIVE DRIVING IN GEORGIA

  • Intent to annoy
  • Harass
  • Molest
  • Intimidate
  • Injure or obstruct another person


While doing one or more of the following:

  • Overtaking and passing another vehicle
  • Violating traffic lane markings
  • Following too closely
  • Violating signal
  • Lane change
  • Slowing or stopping laws
  • Impeding traffic flows
  • Reckless driving.

ATLANTA ANGER MANAGEMENT RESOURCES:
Anger Management Classes
Rage Help
Road Rage Help
Stress Management
Private Individual Sessions
V
IP Concierge Coaching Services
Anger Assessments
Emotional Intelligence EQ-i 2.0 Assessments

Aggressive Driving
Aggressive Driver Actions Defined by Statute Comments
Intent to annoy, harass, molest, intimidate, injure or obstruct another person, while doing one or more of the following: overtaking and passing another vehicle; violating traffic lane markings; following too closely; violating signal, lane change, slowing or stopping laws; impeding traffic flows; reckless driving.  

Sources: National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) and State Highway Safety Office.

Cell Phones and Texting
Hand-held Ban All Cell Phone Ban Text Messaging Ban Crash
Data
School Bus Drivers Novice Drivers All Drivers School Bus Drivers Novice Drivers
  Yes
(Primary)
<18
(Primary)
Yes
(Primary)
Covered under all driver ban Yes

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Child Passenger Safety
Child Restraint Required
unless indicated, # refers to Yrs.(Lbs.)
Adult Safety Belt Permissible
unless indicated, # refers to Yrs.(Lbs.)
Maximum Fine 
1st Offense
<8 (and <57″) in rear seat if available >57″; >40 lbs. in rear seat can use lap belt if lap/shoulder belt unavailable $50 + points

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Drug Impaired Driving
Per Se Laws for Drugs (Forbidding Prohibited Substances in Driver’s Body) DEC/DRE Programs
(Providing Law Enforcement Training)
Yes Yes

Source: State Highway Safety Office.

Drunk Driving
Inc. Penalty for High BAC Admin. License Susp. on 1st Offense Limited Driving Privileges During Susp. Ignition Interlocks Vehicle and License Plate Sanctions Open Container Laws* Repeat Offender Laws* Alcohol Exclusion Laws Limiting Treatment
*Meeting Federal Requirements
.15 1 year Yes Mandatory for repeat convictions Vehicle confiscation Yes Yes Yes

Sources: Ensuring Solutions to Alcohol ProblemsInsurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) and State Highway Safety Office.

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)
Learner Stage Intermediate Stage Full Privilege
Min. Age
(Years/ Months)
Min. Age
(Years/ Months)

  1. Duration
    (Months)
Required
Supervised
Driving Hours
(Night Hours)
Min. Age
(Years/ Months)
Nighttime Driving Restriction Passenger
Restriction
(except family, unless noted)
15 12 40 (6) 16 Midnight – 6 a.m.
(secondary enforcement)
First 6 mos.–no pass; second 6 mos.–no more than 1 <21; thereafter–no more than 3
(secondary enforcement)
18

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Helmets
Motorcyclists Bicyclists
Universal Helmet Law (Year Enacted) Partial Law Universal Helmet Law Repealed
1969     <16

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Mature Drivers
Length of Regular Renewal Cycle (Yrs.) Provisions for Mature Drivers
Choice of 5 or 10; veterans valid until 65 yrs. >60: renewal every 5 yrs.
>64: vision test

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Seat Belts
Type of Law Who is Covered (Yrs.) In What Seat Maximum Fine 1st Offense
Primary 8 – 17 All $15
>18 Front

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway and State Highway Safety Office.

Segways
State Law
Permitted

Sources: Segway LLC and State Highway Safety Office.

Sobriety Checkpoints
Checkpoints Conducted? Frequency Legality
Yes Weekly Upheld under state and federal Constitution

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Speed Limits
Rural Interstates Urban Interstates Other Limited Access Roads
Cars
(mph)
Trucks
(mph)
Cars
(mph)
Trucks
(mph)
Cars
(mph)
Trucks
(mph)
70 70 55 55 65 65
Georgia ‘Super Speeder Law’ adds on $200 in state fees for any driver convicted of speeding at >75 on any two-lane roads or >85 on multiple lane roads anywhere in the state.

Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Speed and Red Light Cameras
Violation / State Law Permitted Locations/Criteria Citation Issued To / Liability Image Taken Penalties (Traditional Penalties)
Speed: No state law or programs
Red light: Permitted Statewide Registered owner/
Owner
License tag, intersection and light $70 max.; not conviction or record offense; no points; not moving violation; not used by insurers
($1,000 max.; 3 points)

Sources: National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and State Highway Safety Office.

Work Zones
Violations Affected Enhanced Penalties Workers Must Be Present Signs Must Be Present
Speeding $100-$2,000 and/or up to 12 months in jail Either work zone personnel, or barriers, work vehicles or shoulder or pavement drop offs Yes

Sources: National Work Zone Safety Information Clearinghouse and State Highway Safety Office.

Georgia Points and Points Reduction

Point System

The Georgia Point System ranges from 2 to 6 points. A driver with 15 points in a 24 month period will be suspended.

Points are assessed for each conviction pursuant to O.C.G.A. §40-5-57(c)(1)(A)

The State assesses no points for speeding convictions less than 15 miles-per hour over the posted speed limit and for convictions of driving ‘Too Fast for Conditions’, as per O.C.G.A. §40-6-180. No points are assessed against non-residents of Georgia.

Offense Code Conviction Points
§40-6-397 Aggressive Driving 6 Points
§40-6-390 Reckless Driving 4 Points
§40-6-163 Unlawful Passing School Bus 6 Points
§40-6-45 Improper Passing on Hill or Curve 4 Points
§40-6-181 Speeding:
15 to 18 mph over speed limit 2 Points
19 to 23 mph over speed limit 3 Points
24 to 33 mph over speed limit 4 Points
34 mph or more over speed limit 6 Points
§40-6-20 Failure to Obey Traffic-Control Device 3 Points
§40-6-2 Failure to Obey Police Officer 3 Points
§40-6-253 Possessing an Open Container of an Alcoholic Beverage while Driving 2 Points
§40-6-248.1 Failure to Adequately Secure Load (except fresh farm produce), resulting in an Accident 2 Points
§40-8-76 Violation of Child Safety Restraint
1st Offense 1 Point
2nd or Subsequent Offense 2 Points
§40-6-241.1 Violation of usage of wireless telecommunication device requirements 1 Point
§40-6-241.2 Operating a Vehicle while Text Messaging 1 Point
§40-6-54 Improper Use of Designated Travel Lane –  4th and Subsequent Offense 1 Point
  All Other Moving Violations 3 Points

Points Reductions

How do I obtain a Points Reduction?

In accordance with O.C.G.A §40-5-86, licensed Georgia residents may request that DDS reduce the number of points assessed against their Georgia driver’s license up to 7 points once every 5 years.

To qualify for a Points Reduction, you must successfully complete a certified Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course and present the original certificate of completion to the DDS by mail or in person at one of our Customer Service Centers.

If you request a Points Reduction by mail, please mail the original Driver Improvement (defensive driving) certificate of completion to the Georgia Department of Driver Services, P. O. Box 80447, Conyers, Georgia 30013.

A list of certified Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course can be found at the following link:http://www.dds.ga.gov/DUI/SchoolMatrix.aspx

Last Updated On: 4/10/2012

Source: http://www.dds.ga.gov/drivers/dldata.aspx?con=1749471757&ty=dl

ATLANTA ANGER MANAGEMENT RESOURCES:
Anger Management Classes
Rage Help
Road Rage Help
Stress Management
Private Individual Sessions
V
IP Concierge Coaching Services
Anger Assessments
Emotional Intelligence EQ-i 2.0 Assessments

CONTACT:

Director Richard Taylor BS, CAMF
Certified Anger Management Facilitator
Diplomate American Association Anger Management Providers

Atlanta Anger Management
5555 Glenridge Connector
Suite 200 (2nd Floor)
Atlanta, Georgia 30342 USA

Office Phone: 678-576-1913
Fax: 1-866-551-1253
Web: www.atlantaangermanagement.com
E-mail: richardtaylor5555@gmail.com

Linked in:http://www.linkedin.com/in/richardtayloraam

#1 Oldest Certified Anderson and Anderson™ Anger Management Provider
The Best Of The Best In Anger Management & Emotional Intelligence